You Trashy Little Thing.

You thought you were about to get the scoop huh? Don’t be disappointed, in a way you are.
Those of you who know me have seen some of these photos or seen the said “trash” in person.

I love me some trash!!


I really really do! My favorite thing to do, other than writing for all of you of course, is to go rummage. You normally won’t catch me at a garage sale, sometimes but not often. When I go rummaging I say “Go big or go home son!” The place that I go (I will try to grab a photograph next time) would be the epitome of the word trashy at first sight but it will definitely teach you not to just a book by its cover. You can take it either way when you come up the long drive way to what the sign says is a ranch…. and there it is…

My kind of Heaven.

I pull in (if I can find a place to park). And there it is…the most beautiful clothing mountain I have ever seen, I apologize to it silently as I walk by it. I never give that mountain enough of my time..my mission is not with you my love. I get this little flutter in my stomach like the first time you hold hands, palms all sweaty…should I? YES!

There is a room filled with linens, walking across clouds of pillows and blankets I make it to the vintage suitcases. Their luggage tags and stickers from different cities flood my mind with wonder. Who had them? Where have they been? What have they seen? And sometimes…what did they spill in there? Oh let’s put that one back.

Tubs of broken toys, kitchen ware, sports gear fill the space between linens and luggage. Except for on Tuesday and Wednesday when all of these second chance items never live for their third chance…these are the days they are thrown out to make room for more. Going on those days is sad for me. Oh, if I don’t get that it will go to the trash!?!? But I have to pass by it anyway for it was not destined to be with me…”It’s your time buddy” I think to myself.

But that is not all…no. Out the “pillow room” as we call it, around the mound of clothing, and past the boxes of miscellaneous things is…dun dun dun. The lamp room. And through the lamp room is the book and dishes room. And few more steps, deep breath…it’s finally here! The furniture room. And oh my my! How my heart doeth love thee. We started with hand holding but have mustered up the courage for a kiss. The gold mine is what it should be called. NOT the furniture room. How sad for it..

“Don’t your dare call me the furniture room, We have lived lives, harder, longer, more adventurous than you will ever see with your own eyes. Live through us, take us home..give us the love that we deserve.”

A dresser once said that to me! No lie! But really, there is something similar in putting your grandmother in a nursing home before her time and sending these pieces to the dump.

[If you didn’t read that in 1-800 Girl voice  over or at least with anticipation you should try it again.]

That’s my trashy novel. Ha! Get it! I know this makes me stranger than most but that’s totally okay with me. The high of picking and choosing, the sadness in it too…deciding whose time it is to go and who needs to live a bit longer, this is what I live for! And you DO have to pick and choose. You cannot be thrifter without being a little bit of a furniture snob (but in the right kind of way). Not everything needs a second life, some things are on their tenth life and some were never built to live that long anyway. A good piece of furniture is like a tortoise, if loved and cared for can live to be 100+ years old but a fly now…a fly’s life is short-lived. We do not revive them because they are not meant to have a lengthy life. They were not made up of what it takes to live on and on and on. You should take this into consideration when choosing which rummage items to take into your home. Will it last? Is it quality? Is it ugly? Wait it can be ugly, ugly is good. The proper question is Does it have potential? Be picky, but be thrifty.

Sometimes I bring friends with me to this dirty filthy beautiful place. And sometimes they choose to sit in the car…but every now and then the thrifty or upcycling bug latches on to one of them, and never let’s go. This, my friends, is how I spread joy.

If you like this post you should do a little hop over to Scoutie Girl and read their blogs on Thrifted Thoughts. You won’t be disappointed! Oh wait!!! And Mod Nest, Lia Fagan uses the same heads in the photos of her AMAZING lamps as I do in my living room design! So go now! Hurry up! Shew!

[If you are interested in making your own a silhouettes a good guide I ran across is Acute How-to: Simple Silhouettes]

Leave a comment

Filed under Blog

Comments are closed.